3 Popular Diets Commonly Confused (never get them wrong again)

Vegan Vegetarian PescatarianWith constantly changing opinions on what foods are the healthiest, and what foods we should be avoiding, there are new diets emerging on a regular basis. From fad diets, to weight-loss plans, to entire lifestyle changes, it can be hard to keep track of which is which. Even three of the longest-standing, most common, and most well-known diets are continuously confused with each other. Everyone knows at least one vegetarian (a term used for over 150 years), a vegan, or a pescatarian, but do we all know what those terms really mean?

Knowing the difference is important for two major reasons:

The first reason is that calling one diet (or lifestyle) the wrong term is just that. Wrong. 

The second reason is that confusing someone's dietary restrictions could be dangerous. If a vegetarian is fed fish because a cook/friend/chef assumes incorrectly that vegetarians eat fish, that person could become sick, especially if there is an allergy involved. 



Vegans don't consume any animal (mammal, bird, fish, etc.) flesh or products, or any products made by animals (like eggs, dairy, and honey), or any products in general that directly lead to the exploitation, injury, or death of any creatures. Living a vegan lifestyle also includes not wearing or using animal products, like leather or fur. "Vegan" is a more recent (still over a half-century old) term for "strict vegetarian".


Vegetarians don't consume any animal flesh, but may or may not consume various products made by animals (like eggs, dairy, and honey). Although many vegetarians choose not to wear or use animal products, a vegetarian lifestyle is less strict than vegan, and some vegetarians choose to use certain products like leather boots or hand-made drums made from "by-products" (e.g. skin) of the meat industry. Some vegetarians choose to categorize their diet as lacto-, ovo-, or lacto-ovo-vegetarians if they eat dairy or eggs, respectively, but the term "vegetarian" has generally come to include being open to eating both dairy and eggs, and usually doesn't need to be further categorized. 


The most recently (but still a couple decades old) defined of the three, pescatarians have a diet similar to the vegetarian diet, but also include eating aquatic animals. The distinction between "vegetarian" and "pescatarian" is important to make, but being the newest, is also the most often confused (or ignored), frequently by pescatarians themselves. Pescatarians eat fish and other sea food, but do not eat any other animal (mammal. bird, etc) flesh.


Although these popular plant-based diets can appear restrictive, what they do include are fresh vegetables from leafy greens to tuberous roots, grains, nuts, seeds, fruits and berries, and beans: a food list with an infinite number of combinations and flavors.


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.

Also in The Buzz

Blossom Body Oil - Behind the Scenes

Whenever I travel or celebrate a special occasion, I make a new essential oil blend. Sometimes I put it in an inhaler, or sometimes a perfume oil, sometimes a body oil, or a spray. Having a new aroma is my way to commemorate special moments in my life. 

A few weeks ago, I went to Ireland. I wanted to bring some body oil for relaxing, so I first made a blend with Peace. Then I remembered I recently bought jasmine extract and neroli essential oil for personal use. They are both very precious oils, so I don't often use them, I had purchased them on a whim. It turns out I had a reason, I just didn't know it at the time.

I wanted to make something that reminded me of summer; reminded me of flowers blooming and of fertile earth and fresh green leaves. I started by pulling aside the oils that reminded me of that aroma. I wanted to use neroli and jasmine for sure, not only because I wanted to work with them, but also because their heavy floral aromas were perfect for the heart of the blend.  

I needed a top note that was

Read More

March Meet the Maker

Making an essential oil blend for a new lip balmI'm taking part in an Instagram Challenge called March Meet the Maker. Joanne Hawker started this challenge in 2016, but I only heard of it this year and jumped in late, just a couple days ago. Joanne set up each day with a different prompt, and makers share photos and stories related to that prompt. Today's prompt is "design process", and since this is my favorite part of my job, I wanted to share more than an Instagram post would allow. 

Each type of product I make has a slightly different design process, depending on whether it's a lip balm and I'm creating new scents, or it's an aromatherapy blend where the ingredients are therapeutic, or it's a limited edition body product that is completely new. But they all start the same - an idea. Usually followed by the question, "how can I make this scent with just natural ingredients?"

Read More

Is it something you want to take into your future?

the life-changing magic of tidying up book by Marie KondoTwo years ago, I was browsing in a bookstore, and I picked up a book on their bestsellers table. I liked the way the book looked and felt in my hands, and I made a split second decision to buy it just before they closed, completely unaware that what I felt was what the book was about - an item sparking joy in myself. The book was Marie Kondo's The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

Though the KonMari Method is about following your heart, not necessarily your instincts, I'm so glad I picked up that book!

I love stuff. I love to collect things, especially old things. I love the memories they hold, the connections they remind me of, and the history they contain. I am comforted by always having useful things around in case I need them. It's rare I ever leave my house without a bag (although I do try to challenge myself sometimes).

Read More