Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty

Continue Shopping

Chakra Series, Part III: What is the Solar Plexus Chakra?

Chakra Man Solar PlexusWhat is the Solar Plexus?

Below the rib cage and above the naval, right where we feel our intuitive "gut feelings", we find our third major chakra, the Solar Plexus Chakra. It projects outward in a cone-like spiral, with the small end closest to the body. The Solar Plexus is represented by the color yellow and the element of fire, and corresponds with our sense of sight.

The Solar Plexus Chakra rules our mental body, our identity, and our ego. Between the ages of 14 and 21, we begin to form our sense of self. We start to break away from family and friends to experience new things and learn who we are, leaving the expectations of others behind. We learn to rely on our Self, giving us personal power, self-confidence, courage, and a feeling of self worth. With every new experience, we find more about ourselves, and learn to trust our instincts with everything from personal relationships to our finances.

On a physical level, the Solar Plexus Chakra corresponds with our digestive system, particularly the stomach, liver, and pancreas. Emotional imbalances related to this chakra may physically manifest as digestive problems, such as stomachaches, a slow metabolism, or a congested or stagnant liver. Good nutrition, such as fresh fruit and vegetables, leafy greens, and low fat proteins are important to the Solar Plexus, as well as keeping junk food, alcohol, and other indulgences to a minimum.

The Solar Plexus Chakra radiates heat, like the fiery sun, and has a clearing energy, to remove toxins in our body and mind. It turns the creative ideas of the Sacral Chakra into actions. The Solar Plexus likes to get things done. It gives you confidence, and lets you know you're worthy, simply because you exist.

Solar Plexus Archetypes

The Servant. The Servant has an unbalanced Solar Plexus. He is constantly seeking the approval of others, trying to please everyone around him, while forgetting to honor himself. She gives up her personal power, and relies on others to define who she is. He often feels stagnant, or full of internal conflict. Similar to The Victim, she may be defensive and apt to be blame others for her lack of empowerment. He may try to fill his need for power in unhealthy ways such as becoming argumentative and manipulative, or trying to push others down in order to pull himself up. 

The Warrior. One with a balanced Solar Plexus Chakra is The Warrior. He is energetic, confident, and lifts up the people around him. She personifies power, in a healthy way, by acting with integrity and standing by her choices. He takes responsibility for his actions, even when he makes mistakes, and never tries to place the blame on others. The Warrior makes an excellent leader. She is courageous, and unafraid take risks, but has the willpower to make healthy choices. He knows who he is, has a healthy sense of self, and understands being open to change is important to his growth. A good connection with the Heart Chakra allows The Warrior to make the best choices.

Balancing The Solar Plexus Chakra

Finding balance in the Solar Plexus often means adventure. Travel, meeting new people, and having new experiences challenges our sense of self and helps us grow. Go somewhere alone, whether to a new restaurant, or to a new country, where there are no preconceived notions about who you are. Challenge your actions and your beliefs. Wear something you normally wouldn't wear, eat something you normally wouldn't eat, learn something new about yourself. 

To balance the Solar Plexus Chakra with essential oils, choose bright oils, such as the lemon and grapefruit, clearing aromas like juniper and cypress, or warm spices like ginger, clove, and cardamom. Add a drop or two of diluted essential oils to your hands, rub together to warm, and hold over your Solar Plexus, or massage into your abdomen. Chai tea or green tea with ginger may be helpful, as well as bitter herbs, like dandelion leaf, to support digestion, and liver tonics, such as milk thistle. 

The Warrior yoga poses (virabhadrasanas) are an excellent way to build strength and confidence, or try heat-building core poses like the plank (phalakasana) and the boat pose (navasana). While holding the poses, imagine a fiery yellow orb burning brightly in your Solar Plexus, while reminding yourself, "I am worthy".

<< What is the Sacral Chakra?          What is the Heart Chakra? >>

For educational purposes only. This information is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.